YouTube Channel: lhughesXC

Ahh, May has yet again sneaked up us. 2016 has seemed to gone by pretty quick! May is the typical month for gearing up for summer, but that doesn’t mean you have to spend your days reading beachy romantic novels (unless you want to, of course.) There are equally as awesome books that have been released this month that you can get lost in. Here are 20 of them and more on the way!

1. The Last Star by Rick Yancey

The Last Star is the final book in the post-apocalyptic 5th wave series. The sci-fi action series surrounds a teenage girl as she is forced to hunt through mysterious forces and try and survive through the most strangest, and unbelievable situations. A great series for those who have a thing for sci-fi, or if you enjoy other series such as Veronica Roth’s Divergent trilogy or Suzanne Collin’s The Hunger Games.

tumblr_nvw18pmoxc1s3ycibo1_1280
Source: Amazon

2. The Crown by Kiera Cass

The Crown is the final book in the highly-addictive Selection series by Kiera Cass. The series follows a Bachelor type of reality show in which thirty-five girls have the chance to compete for the attention of the dreamy Prince Maxon. It is a luxurious life that some would kill for and that’s one of the reasons why this series is among the most popular among Young Adult readers.

download
Source: Amazon

3. The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer L. Armentrout is another popular author in the young adult world, though she often crosses over and writes more contemporary novels too. The Problem with Forever is a richly emotional book that will break down all the walls you have around your heart. Based upon the 4.2 star rating on Goodreads, it will go down as one of her best works.

THE-PROBLEM-WITH-FOREVER-Tour-Text-Teaser
Source: Amazon

4. If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

An original story about a young girl by the named of Amanda who has recently become the new girl in school. A title that could be a great thing or a disastrous one. Her goal of just getting through her senior year without being too noticed are interrupted when she meets Grant Everett, who shows her a rare kind of kindness that completely overtakes her.

9781250078407
Source: Amazon

5. Modern Lovers by Emma Straub

An entertaining tale following the lives of a group of friends who have endured the ups and downs of growing up together, who now are faced with their own children leaving the nest for college. A great book if you have previously read Emma’s New York Time’s Bestseller, The Vacationers, (though they are not related and contain different plots, characters, etc.) or if you’re in the mood for a kick-back and read kind of day. The covers are also so bright and inviting so it’ll make your shelf look pretty!

cover.jpg.rendition.460.707
Source: Amazon

6. Zero K by Don DeLillo

You may look at the front cover of this novel and think it may involve battling aliens or some kind of civil war against zombies, but think again. Celebrated author Don DeLillo, author of White Noise and the famous Underworld, invites us into the world of Jeffrey Lockhart, a man challenged with the illness of his sick stepmother and who is passionately committed to living each life, each moment to the fullest, no matter how difficult even a breath may seem at times.

9781509822829Zero K
Source: Amazon

7. The Assistants by Camille Perri

Camille Perri’s satirical first novel follows a young woman, Tina Fontana, as, in the aftermath of an embezzlement scam, becomes a very hands-on assistant to one of the most powerful men in New York, founder and CEO of the media empire, Titan Corp. Full of unfiltered humor, wit and colorful vocabulary, The Assistants may make you either fall in love with your job all over again, or ruthlessly hate it.

camille_perri-assistants
Source: Amazon

8. Everyone Brave is Forgiven by Chris Cleave

A very eye-catching title don’t you think? Well, if you are in the mood for a novel that is both touching and haunting, Everyone Brave is Forgiven will fully deliver. The story follows three characters as they are brought together by the affects of all that is World War II. The story takes place in London in the year of 1939, which might appeal to fans of the historical fiction genre.

everyone-brave-is-forgiven-9781501124372_hr
Source: Amazon

9. The City of Mirrors by Justin Cronin

The third book in the Passage series, readers will have to catch up with book one, The Passage, and book two, The Twelve before diving into The City of Mirrors. An adrenaline-pumping series that raises the harrowing questions: What do you do when the world you have known for so long becomes that no more? Does power always equal good?

17059277._SY540_
Source: Amazon

10. Imagine Me Gone by Adam Haslett

Imagine Me Gone is an emotionally charged story about the affects severe depression has upon a family and a long-standing marriage. A tremendous story that will surely not leave any eye dry or any heart unbroken.

imagine-me-gone-adam-haslett-book-review
Source: Amazon

11. The Fireman by Joe Hill

A high energy novel about the fate of civilization after a worldwide combustion of chemicals are suddenly released. Perfect for fans of Stephen King’s The Mist.

the-fireman
Source: Amazon

12. Wilde Lake by Laura Lippman

A haunting, psychological thriller that will entrap the reader in its contents. A death that occurred many years back continues to affect every aspect of the generations following. Mysterious, and intriguing, this novel will likely appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl, Dark Places, and Sharp Objects, as well as fans of The Girl on the Train.

e9f5f398bd4c7815970f6a7067005b96
Source: Amazon

13. The Weekenders by Mary Kay Andrews

An enjoyable summer, beachy read that will keep you entranced into discovering secret after secret from the characters. A great book to just read when you want to kick back and relax, but don’t want to necessarily have to read anything heavy in plot.

weekenders-book001
Source: Amazon

14. Girls on Fire by Robin Wasserman

Hannah and Lacey share a friendship like no other. The beginning of the story begins with the news of a local suicide, which ultimately brings these two young girls into each other’s lives. An edge of your seat story that may make you wonder, Is there ever a time when two people can be too, dangerously, close?

stbs-tablet-comp-girl-on-fire1-v1
Source: Amazon

15. The Sudden Appearance of Hope by Claire North

A story that any who have the chance to read will never forget. Hope is the girl that no one remembers. Not her parents, not her classmates, no one. But she remembers each one of them. This newly released novel is one that will shake up the heart of the reader and make you feel a little less lonely in the world.

thesuddenapperanceofhope
Source: Amazon

16. Please Don’t Tell by Laura Tims

Please Don’t Tell is a gripping story about the bonds of sisterhood from the beyond the grave and shows just how far a sister will go to bring justice to the brutality of a family member’s murder. What happens when those murderous tracks are left uncovered? A mysterious novel that is surely easy to devour.

17933522
Source: Amazon

17. The After Party by Anton DiSclafani

A delicious drama surrounding the lives of lively Texas socialites in the 1950s. I would recommend this story for fans of Gossip Girl( both the books and the show), as well as Sarah Shepherd’s Pretty Little Liars (also the books and the television show.)

cba3e0626fbd1869b1cf98c47705a55d
Source: Amazon

18. A Fine Imitation by Amber Brock

Similar to The After Party by Anton Disclafani, A Fine Imitation takes place in the roaring and glamorous twenties and follows the drama heavy lives of well privileged socialites.

CcqnfkWUAAABIuD
Source: Amazon

19. The Ending I Want by Samantha Towle

Life was ideal for Taylor Shaw, all the way until she turned sixteen. Faced with the heart-wrenching battle of fighting for her life after being diagnosed with a brain tumor, Taylor miraculously recovers, only to be struck down again with the loss of her entire family. A deeply touching novel that proves that often times, things are not as they seem and fairy tales, unfortunately, do not always last forever.

19056618._SX540_
Source: Amazon

20. Wild Swans by Jessica Spotswood

Ivy has her senior year of high school perfectly planned out. School dances, warm and toasty bonfires, everything that makes high school one of the best experiences of a young person’s life. All of Ivy’s plans come crashing down when the mother who abandoned her suddenly emerges back into her life. Not only does Ivy now have to face her conflicting emotions about her new and improved mom, though she has two new sisters in the equation as well. An interesting family drama that will appeal to fans of E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars.

 

27015393._UY788_SS788_
Source: Amazon

 

Featured image via Voodoo Hair Design

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here