Why You Should Read The Cormoran Strike Series By Robert Galbraith (A.K.A. J.K. Rowling)

YouTube Channel: wochit Entertainment


Despite the widespread success of J.K. Rowling’s crime fiction series under the pseudonym of Robert Galbraith, there continues to be a surprising amount of trepidation on the part of some Harry Potter friends to read the series. While the series is far removed from the wizarding world, the spark that ignites whatever Rowling writes is burning bright.

Get ready to be pulled along by intriguing crimes and deceptive motives in this well constructed series. Each novel grows in complexity, making the reader beg for more. The series is riddled with mysteries that will keep you guessing until the end, but it is the details of Rowling’s stories that are most impressive. It has always been staggering how she can fit in seemingly insignificant details that are key to the outcome of the book.

Rowling’s characters are rich, nuanced, and memorable people. Developing a deep affection for these characters is all too easy as they feel like living, breathing entities. There is no question that Rowling has keen insights into the human condition. She enters the subconscious of her characters seamlessly, allowing the reader to feel like her characters are old friends. Cormoran Strike is a spool to be unraveled, keeping his past and personal relationships closed off from everyone, even himself. While the crippled, down on his luck detective may be mysterious, wait until you begin to dig into his assistant Robin, who is illuminated more with each case.

While the characters and the details make the series intriguing, it is Rowling’s language that makes it shine. Not flowering with literary descriptions, but beautiful nonetheless. Be amazed as you read through scenes of murder and mystery with language that outshines that of Potter, showing just how truly tailored Harry was to children.

A detective in London is struggling to keep his agency afloat, but when he is hired to investigate the mysterious, high-profile death of a famous model, he has the chance to drag his floundering business to its feet. With the unexpected talents of an assistant from a temp agency, join Strike as he unravels Lula Landry’s death in The Cuckoo’s Calling.

Source: Amazon

The Cormoran Strike Series (Thus Far) by Robert Galbraith

Book One: The Cuckoo’s Calling

Book Two: The Silkworm

Book Three: Career of Evil


There is a fourth book set to be released sometime in the near future.


Featured image via Based on the Book

Leave a Reply