The Crown is a big hit on Netflix, and surely you binge watched it as well! What happens after you finish that last episode, though? With no confirmed date for Season 2, what will fill the royal void that was left? Luckily, we have books that can fill the elegant niche quite well and hold you over until late 2017. Here are 10 books about Queen Elizabeth’s life and Royal England. Don’t fear, they are as illuminating as any TV show!

 

1. Princess Margaret by Tim Heald

Princess Margaret is an invigorating biography of Queen Elizabeth’s younger sister. Diving deep into her private life, this book covers both the exciting times and trying times of the Princess.

Source: Amazon
Source: Amazon

2. Elizabeth the Queen by Sally Bedell Smith

This book goes behind the palace walls and searches into the Queen’s private life, detailing her contentious marriage to Prince Philip, and her 60+ years of ruling. This book presents a rarely portrayed side of Queen Elizabeth.

Source: Amazon
Source: Amazon

3. Elizabeth & Philip: Portrait of a Royal Marriage by Gyles Brandeth

Not only does Elizabeth & Philip provide rare insight, but is the intimate portrait of the Queen’s marriage to Philip, and the love that both flourished and hit rocky times as well.

Source: Amazon
Source: Amazon

4. The Little Princesses by Marion Crawford

Marion Crawford was the nanny to Queen Elizabeth and Princess Margaret, and tells the story of these two girls in their youth. This book was, in turn, challenged by the press and the royal family for divulging too many secrets.

Source: Amazon
Source: Amazon

5. Young Prince Philip by Philip Eade

Young Prince Philip covers the portion of Philip’s life before meeting Queen Elizabeth and is a must read for anyone with an interest in the Prince. For all those who want to uncover the mystery of Philip, Young Prince Philip is the insight you’ve been looking for.

Source: Amazon
Source: Amazon

6. The Queen Mother by William Shawcross

Shawcross attained access to the Queen Mother’s personal letters, diaries, and papers in order to author this biography. The turbulent times of the Queen Mother are uncovered in this unseen side of royal life.

Source: Amazon

7. Queen Elizabeth II: Portraits by Cecil Beaton

These are the portraits that captured the public image of the Queen. The glamour that is Queen Elizabeth II is shown off in these pictures, and Beaton is able to give a stunning pictorial diary of the Queen’s life.

Source: Amazon
Source: Amazon

8. Not in Front of the Corgis by Brian Hoey

Told from the perspective of the palace staff, this book is filled with fun facts about the Queen and gives insight into various dinner parties. Not in Fron of the Corgis offers a more human portrait of the royal family.

Source: Amazon
Source: Amazon

9. The Royals by Kitty Kelley

This unauthorized biography contains scandals and other juicy materials. For those that want to know more salacious material about Britain’s famous family, The Royals delivers.

Source: Amazon
Source: Amazon

How excited are you for Season 2 of The Crown? Which book(s) listed will fill the void?

YouTube Channel: Netflix US & Canada

 

Featured image via Vanity Fair

h/t Entertainment Weekly