read-book-resized1469870_640

Surprise! Five Books To Read If You Love A Good Plot Twist

In Book Lovers, Classics, Lists, Mystery, Suspense/Thriller by Eleanor Hicks0 Comments

Few things are more fun than a good plot twist. There’s nothing quite like thinking you know exactly where a story is headed, only to be blindsided by something completely unexpected. Here are five books to check out if you love having authors pull the rug out from under you.

 

1. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Amy Dunne is missing. Her husband, Nick, is the prime suspect, but is everything really as it seems? Yes, this book gets mentioned every time the subject of plot twists comes up, but with good reason. The plot is as twisty as the Pacific Coast Highway, and each new revelation hits you like a punch in the gut. If you haven’t read this one yet, sit down and buckle up, because you’re in for one heck of a ride.

gone-girl-by-gillian-flynn-gone-girl-37441442-1181-1810

2. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

This tale of a missing woman and the commuter who becomes entangled in her disappearance features three separate narrators, all of whom are thoroughly unreliable. There’s the alcoholic Rachel, her ex-husband’s new wife, and, finally, the missing woman herself. Everybody saw something, but who saw what, and what does it mean? The varying perspectives and shifting narratives will have you questioning everything, right up until the sucker punch of a climax.

the-girl-on-the-train

Source: Amazon

3. The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie

Agatha Christie wasn’t called the “Queen of Crime” for nothing- the woman knew how to write a mystery that packed some serious punch. The Murder of Roger Ackroyd, however, stands out as having a particularly shocking resolution. When the titular Mr. Ackroyd turns up dead, there’s no shortage of suspects, but who is actually guilty? While the twists and turns of this bizarre case are no match for the esteemed Hercule Poirot, those of us who lack his “little grey cells” will be left speechless with amazement when the murderer is finally revealed.

61rfebvwqdl

Source: Amazon

4. Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

Shortly after Jane, a single mother, arrives in a quaint seaside town, her son is accused of bullying another student at the local school. A few months later, someone is dead. But what happened and why? And who, for that matter, is actually dead? These are the questions you’ll be asking yourself as you make your way through this novel about the secrets we keep and the lies we tell, both to others and to ourselves. As the pieces finally fall into place, the picture that emerges is the last one you’d expect to see.

big-little

Source: Amazon

5. Bleak House by Charles Dickens

This may seem like an odd choice- after all, heavy Victorian novels are not usually what comes to mind when you think “plot twist.” Moreover, the plot itself- the story of a group of people all connected by an ongoing lawsuit- doesn’t sound that compelling at first. But this sprawling Dickens novel is actually full of twists, turns, and surprise revelations, including a murder mystery with a solution that isn’t nearly as obvious as it originally appears.

3babed2c-a59d-4f42-bfc2-078be4f44507img100

Source: Amazon

Did any of these books shock you? What are your favorite novels with great plot twists?

YouTube Channel: WatchMojo.com

 

Featured image via Pixabay

Leave a Comment

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.