don't panic

6 Books To Read If You Loved ‘Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy’

In Fantasy, Human Interest, Humor, Lists, Satire, Sci-Fi, Science Fiction, Time-Travel, weird fiction by Elizabeth Nedland0 Comments

The cult classic, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, picked up fans from all over the universe. If you already read all five books in the “trilogy”, consider trying some of these books!!

 

1. Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency by Douglas Adams

Suggesting another book by Douglas Adams is kind of a given, but before I read Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency, I hadn’t actually been aware that Adams had written other books. I was laughing out loud at parts and thinking hard during others, or sometimes both, during this funny detective novel. If you enjoyed The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, you will definitely enjoy this book.

dirk gently

Source: Amazon

2. The Color of Magic by Terry Pratchett

I adored the first book in Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series, The Color of Magic. It felt very similar to The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, but in a complete fantasy setting. There’s the similar tactics of poking fun at the genre, tropes being used and misused,  and, of course, humorous turns of events. I’ve been suggesting it to all of my friends who love fantasy, The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, or just plain fun reads!

Source: Amazon

3. Anowa by Ama Ata Aidoo

A bit dark, Anowa is a play that touches on several themes that are also noticeable in Douglas Adams’ work. Aidoo deftly creates a different world full of priestesses, devils, and concerned parents. She comments sharply on societal roles that are present in Ghana but recognizable all around the world. Her play is less humorous and more cutting, though enjoyable all the same.

anowa

Source: Amazon

4. Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut

As would be expected from Kurt Vonnegut, Cat’s Cradle also falls on the darker side of this list. Vonnegut is a renowned satirist and has a lot of fun critiquing people while destroying the world in Cat’s Cradle. I thought it was incredibly funny, although it definitely raised some very existential questions. Whether or not there’s a happy ending depends completely on your perspective.

2011 - penguin classics kurt vonnegut cover B4

Source: Amazon

5. To Say Nothing of the Dog, Or How We Found the Bishop’s Bird Stump at Last by Connie Willis

Connie Willis visits the world of time travel in this exciting novel. The main character, time traveler Ned Henry, is badly in need of a rest.  He’s been hustling back and forth between the 21st century and the 1940’s on an assignment from Lady Schrapnell, the rich dowager who has invaded Oxford University. Her plan is to restore an old cathedral that was destroyed in the past, and part of that job is looking for a Victorian atrocity called the bishop’s birdstump. Of course, another time traveler messes up and it’s Ned’s job to make sure all of space-time doesn’t unravel.

to say nothing of the dog

Source: Amazon

6. The Secret of Platform 13 by Eva Ibbotson

I have read The Secret of Platform 13, as well as Which Witch?, also by Eva Ibbotson, several times. It’s kooky, fun, and gripping. There are train stations, a kidnapped baby, and other dimensions to say the least. The Secret of Platform 13 is also fairly appropriate for children, unlike most of the rest of this list.

the secret of platform 13

Source: Amazon

Which hilarious and awesome fantasy novels would you add to this list?

YouTube Channel: Wisecrack

 

Featured image via Flickr

Leave a Comment

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.