Book Review: Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

I have to begin by saying that it has been a very long time since a book has resonated with me through such vibrant humor and emotional authenticity. Allie Brosh, simply by being herself and opening up to the world, first through her blog: HyperboleandaHalf.blogspot.com and now through the pages of her book, Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened, she has laid the foundation for a new type of voice in the world of books. A voice that is memorable long after you have turned over the last page. A read that says what you’re really thinking and feeling though are too afraid to openly admit for fear of judgment or condemnation by society.

Book Cover Final three

Source: Amazon

With every ounce of my book-loving heart, I loved this book. Absolutely loved it. It’s hilarious in a way that the reader understands the author is being 100% honest and real in her experiences growing up, battling bouts of severe depression, as well as (somehow) figuring out how to enter the  big bad world of adulthood. (Whatever that really means.)

I would highly recommend it for fans of Amy Poehler’s Yes, Please, Jenny Lawson’s Lets Pretend This Never Happened, as well as Felicia Day’s You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost).

If you enjoy humorous books such as this one, be on the lookout for Allie Brosh’s second novel, Solutions and Other Problems due to hit shelves on October 25, 2016. I can’t wait!

solutions-and-other-problems-9781501103285_hr

Source: Amazon

Happy Reading!

YouTube Channel: JessicaNewsVideo

 

Featured image via DIY LOL

Leave a Comment

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.